Skip to content

Meet Your Summer Tour Guide: Katherine Barnes ’13

July 9, 2012

Meet Summer Tour Guide Katherine Barnes ’13, a rising senior from Culver, IN. For more a complete bio, check out the Admissions website. Be sure to check back soon to meet more of the Summer Tour Guides!

Katherine Barnes ’13, in the Dittmann Center stairwell (her favorite place on campus).

About your time at St. Olaf…

Why did you decide to come to St. Olaf?

I loved the community atmosphere and St. Olaf’s commitment to educating the whole person. When deciding on a school, I didn’t consider just academics, just social activities, or just organizational opportunities. My ideal college was one that not only respected the person I was during the college search process, but also would give me the tools to develop into the adult that would eventually graduate with a degree. St. Olaf was and is that school for me.

What’s the most memorable moment of your first year on the Hill?

In May of 2010, Iron Man 2 was released. There are so many reasons why this was a monumental event in my life, but most of that consists of comic legend and actually has very little to do with why this was the most memorable moment of my first year. I’d fallen in with my current group of friends around Interim (January) of that year, and the May excursion was the first event where I felt completely integrated into the group. It was not only a first for me, but our trip to see Iron Man 2 also sparked a tradition that is still alive and well heading into my senior year at Olaf. We didn’t just go see it on opening night; my friends and I all piled into three cars, trekked up to Lakeville, and watched Iron Man 2 on the biggest screen in the state, at midnight. We went out to Buffalo Wild Wings — affectionately referred to as Bdubs — before hand. I sat between my eventual two best friends here at Olaf, though I didn’t know it at the time. What I remember most about that night, is that it sparked something meaningful. Since Iron Man 2, the group of us has seen Thor, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1, and most recently The Avengers. All at midnight.

What is one thing you didn’t bring with you when you moved to St. Olaf… and wished you would have?

I regret not investing in a foam mattress topper. It’s been three years and I’m finally going to remedy that situation.

What is one favorite study spot/chair/couch/floor/patch of grass on campus?

I’m a huge fan of the Pause. The chair on the right in the first row of couches and chairs…that’s my digs.

In your opinion, what’s the best St. Olaf tradition?

Friday Flowers; it’s the best. I love going to my PO Box on Fridays and seeing a flower from a friend. Actually the first flower I received was from a family I toured.

If you need a few hours off the Hill, what’s a favorite place in Northfield?

St. Dominic’s, a Catholic school down the road. I coach and volunteer there. The hours every week I get to spend in the sixth grade classroom and on the court coaching are some of the most rewarding moments in my week.

Where and how did you meet your best friend at St. Olaf?

Playing Super Smash Bros in Kildahl during Interim of first year.

And now for some fun facts…

If you’re feeling a little down, what YouTube video cheers you up?

I’m not a big YouTuber, but I love watching episodes of How I Met Your Mother on Netflix.

What’s the most played song on your iPod?

Let the Rain by Sara Bareilles and Butterflies and Hurricanes by Muse are tied at an alarmingly high number.

If you could conquer the world and be a leader, who would you choose as your second in command?

Mollie Link, one of my best friends here at Olaf and someone with whom I lead every day. She’s detail oriented and just awesome beyond compare.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what celebrity would you want to be with?

Wanda Sykes. She’d make me laugh the whole time. Plus, people would look for her.

What’s a unique hobby of yours?

I write an absurd amount of Grey’s Anatomy fan fiction.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers