Skip to content

Meet Your Summer Tour Guide: Tucker Moore ’15

June 22, 2012

The second installment of Meet Your Summer Tour Guide features Tucker Moore ’15, a rising sophomore from Minneapolis, MN. For a complete bio of Tucker and the other Summer Tour Guides, check out the Admissions page. Check back often this summer for more contributions from our summer student staff!

Tucker Moore ’15 in Rolvaag 515, his favorite spot on campus.

About your time at St. Olaf…

Why did you decide to come to St. Olaf?

I have always known that St. Olaf and I would be a good match. The big draw for me was the incredible music program. Being able to attend a school with so many fantastic musicians, and study with a faculty that works tirelessly to ensure students’ success is a privilege! I was assured of my decision to attend St. Olaf when the community immediately welcomed me into the fold. Being an Ole is awesome!

What’s the most memorable moment of your first year on the Hill?

In October of this year, King Harald V and Queen Sonja of Norway visited campus. I always knew St. Olaf had a very rich Norwegian heritage, but the King and Queen?! The St. Olaf Band played a regal fanfare as they processed to the front of Boe Memorial Chapel, and the St. Olaf Choir sang “Norge, Mitt Norge”; the whole experience made me feel part of a global community (and more Norwegian than I actually am). I have a weird fascination with royalty, so being able to attend the gathering in Boe Chapel and hear the King speak was a huge thrill. It made me very proud to be a Norwegian Ole.

What is one thing you didn’t bring with you when you moved to St. Olaf… and wished you would have?

Despite the rule against having four-legged friends in the dorms, I would have totally brought my dog, Lucy. She’s hilarious and snores a lot… it’s hard not to love a snoring dog. However, a French press coffee maker would have been great. Nothing beats a French press — such a smooth cup of coffee is perfect for cold Minnesotan winters!

What is one favorite study spot/chair/couch/floor/patch of grass on campus?

Rolvaag 515 (in the English Department) is my favorite study spot on campus. It’s such a beautiful room, and you can almost feel all the tradition in history within the walls. I always feel like putting on a tweed blazer and doing intellectual things when I’m in 515.

In your opinion, what’s the best St. Olaf tradition?

St. Olaf is full of traditions, but the aspect of Ole culture that stuck out to me the most during my first year was the Viking Chorus, the choir of around 80 first-year men. One of my favorite musical moments ever was singing the recently-discovered men’s choir arrangement of “O Day Full of Grace” for the St. Olaf Christmas Festival with Viking. I got chills every time. Dr. Aspaas, the conductor of the group, found the arrangement in the college archives and edited the piece for the 100th anniversary of Christmas Festival.

If you need a few hours off the Hill, what’s a favorite place in Northfield?

It’s a three-way tie. For coffee and/or food, Goodbye Blue Monday and The Hideaway are two staples. A walk around Carleton’s campus, especially on their labyrinth, is a great way to unwind after a stressful week.

Where and how did you meet your best friend at St. Olaf?

It’s tough to name one friend as “best”, but I met my friend Kristi Kroker ‘15 at the Awkward Dance during Week One festivities. Despite the fact that the “Awkward Dance” is appropriately named, Kristi and I immediately connected over the fact that we were both in show choir at our high schools, and probably competed against each other at one point or another. If you ever get a chance to hear her sing, take advantage of it; she’s incredible!

And now for some fun facts…

What’s the most played song on your iPod?

The first movement of Bach’s 3rd Brandenburg Concerto has been played over 5000 times on my iPod. It really gets me pumped up for the day. How can you NOT smile when you listen to that? I think I was born in the wrong century.

If you could conquer the world and be a leader, who would you choose as your second in command?

I would probably ask Hillary Clinton or Anderson Cooper. They simply have stellar histories in foreign affairs, and it would be really fun to get coffee and talk with them on a regular basis. If none of those options worked, I would choose Lauren Kalish ‘14, a fellow admissions ambassador. She and I would make sure the world and all its inhabitants had an outrageous amount of fun.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what celebrity would you want to be with?

Anne Hathaway. Hands down. After watching Princess Diaries as many times as I have, I know she and I would be really good friends — she just doesn’t know it yet.

What’s a unique hobby of yours?

I am an accomplished Loon-caller. I can frequently be seen on the shores of Lake Vermilion luring the Minnesota state bird to shore. Some call this unique gift obnoxious, but I call it a beautiful and intimate connection with nature unlike any other. This is not a joke.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers